Microsoft shelves all February security updates


Microsoft today took the unprecedented step of postponing an entire month’s slate of security updates for Windows and its other products just hours before the patches were to begin rolling out to customers.

“We discovered a last-minute issue that could impact some customers and was not resolved in time for our planned updates today,” Microsoft said in a post to the MSRC (Microsoft Security Research Center) blog. “After considering all options, we made the decision to delay this month’s updates.”

Today was set as Patch Tuesday, the monthly release of security fixes from Microsoft. Normally, Microsoft issues the updates around 10 a.m. PT (1 p.m. ET). Although Microsoft did not time stamp its blog post, the SAN Institute’s Internet Storm Center (ISC) pointed out the delay at 8:22 a.m. PT (11:22 ET).

As Johannes Ullrich, founder of the ISC, penned the post, he noted that today Microsoft was to replace detailed security bulletins with a searchable database of support documents dubbed the “Security Updates Guide,” or SUG. Some experts decried the end of the security bulletins, which since at least 1998 had provided copious information about the fixes, and the vulnerabilities that triggered the patches.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *